Friday, April 01, 2016

Holyrood elections and the candidates for the Inverness and Nairn constituency are...

The Highland Council has published a list of all the candidates standing in the Highland Constituencies. In Inverness and Nairn there are only four contenders for the first past the post seat but on the list component of the election there are other choices for voters. The following from the Highland Council press release:

"Inverness and Nairn

o CADDICK, Carolyn Ann - Scottish Liberal Democrats

o EWING, Fergus Stewart - Scottish National Party (SNP)

o MOUNTAIN, Edward - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

o STEWART, David - Scottish Labour Party

In the Highland and Islands regional constituencies a total of 9 parties and 1 independent candidate are seeking election to Caithness, Sutherland and Ross, Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch, Inverness and Nairn, Shetland, Orkney, Moray, Argyll and Bute, Na h-Eileanan an Iar.
They are:

· RISE – Respect, Independence, Socialism and Environmentalism
· Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship
· Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
· Scottish Green Party
· Scottish Labour Party
· Scottish Liberal Democrats
· Scottish National Party (SNP)
· Solidarity - Scotland's Socialist Movement
· UK Independence Party (UKIP)
· Independent candidate - James Wilson Stockan

Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 5 May at 283 polling stations. The count will take place overnight, starting as soon after 10 pm as possible at the Highland Football Academy, Victoria Park, Dingwall. Steve Barron, Chief Executive of The Highland Council is the Returning Officer for the three local constituencies."  More information about the ballot here. 

No comments: